Outlander – entertainment, education and Robert Louis Stevenson

I read the first book in the Outlander series at new Year. I read it on the recommendation of several American friends – and because the new tv series is being filmed not far from my home – I was curious. Although I didn’t enjoy the latter part of the book, it did start well.

Season 1 of the tv series is finally available on Amazon Instant. I’ve watched the 1st few episodes and been surprised by how much Gaelic is being spoken. I knew they used Gaelic of course, that’s part of why I wanted to watch it, but I didn’t expect to hear so much. I can understand a surprising amount and I’ve even learned a few new words. It’s always a bonus to get in some language learning whilst watching enjoyable telly.

The theme song has been bothering me a little though. It’s sung to the tune of the Skye Boat Song but with lyrics I’d never heard before. I thought they must have been specially written but they don’t quite fit the story so it seemed strange. By the beginning of episode 4 I was ready to find out more about those words.

Imagine my surprise, as a Robert Louis Stevenson fan, to discover that these lyrics were in fact penned by the man himself! I’m learning so much from this programme   🙂

Screen Shot 2015-03-27 at 21.16.34

Leave a Reply

